Welcome to Gaia! ::

Adventurer17
Im still a beginner but something that helps me out a ton is a program
called Drive Time Japanese. It comes with four CDs and a book.
It gives you a great stepping stone in learning the language.
Youll have to learn more after you learn that but like I said,
its a great start. I like it because I can listen to it in the car
when Im driving to work. Plus, I learn better by listening not
reading. Plus it gives you culture facts at the end of each
lesson too!

Quick question. Ive learnt that arigato means thanks and arigato
Gozaimasu means thank you very much but what does domo arigato
goazaimasu mean?

どうもありがとうごあさいます。 most formal way to say thank you. It's actually rarely used i've never used it before honestly lol. I can teach you lol i'm a tutor for japanese^^ So i have a lil teaching exp. i also know korean^^

7,900 Points
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Clambake 200
PrincessNeko
Here's a rather helpful dictionary:

User Image

Also, the textbook that was most recommended to me was the Genki series.

Here on Gaia, there is a language learning resource somewhere around here that should be pretty helpful. Something mint... question

So why do you want to learn Japanese?

I want to learn because I've always thought that it was an interesting language.

7,900 Points
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Clambake 200
cemap95
Hello. All of my Japanese is self-taught and I have read several books and tried out many iPod apps. The one I found the most helpful for everyday conversation was Lonely Planet's Japanese book. It comes with a CD which I found utterly useless but the mini-book was really helpful.