Welcome to Gaia! ::

8,000 Points
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Clambake 200
silverstez
I learn online and made some Japanese friends who help me too.

If you want I can help you out with the basics?

Hello = konnichiwa
Goodbye = ja ne
How are you? = Genki desu ka?
I am well = Genki desu

I think that is a good start to have

Actually hello is the only word that I know in Japanese. I learned that back in elementary school lol.

Dapper Explorer

6,550 Points
  • Friendly 100
  • Somebody Likes You 100
  • Invisibility 100
Hello. All of my Japanese is self-taught and I have read several books and tried out many iPod apps. The one I found the most helpful for everyday conversation was Lonely Planet's Japanese book. It comes with a CD which I found utterly useless but the mini-book was really helpful.

I also have and app on my iPod from Mirai Languages and it's the Japanese one. That is extremely helpful if you don't know a lot. There's always the Idiot's Guide to Japanese, which helps you with pronounciation and stuff. Anime is good if you can catch on to the more slack phrases but I would suggest sticking to the books for the beginning. It takes way to long to have an actual knowledge base from anime. (Believe me, I have been learning the language for 5 years now and I have learned a lot more in the last two than the 3 years of watching anime and writing down notes).

This is getting long but one last thing. It's a good idea to know your hiragana, katakana, and kanji. Cue cards or writing the symbols out repetively are helpful. I have a set of cue cards for katakana and hiragana and since I'm not so great at katakana, I test myself when I read manga to see if I can guess what all the sound effects mean before seeing the T/N at the bottom.

OKAY! That's all I had to say. I could teach you if you want but I'd much rather do it in a forum than a PM. (^_^)/  がんばって!

8,500 Points
  • Conventioneer 300
  • Tycoon 200
  • Mark Twain 100