Welcome to Gaia! ::

5,650 Points
  • Hygienic 200
  • Flatterer 200
  • Dressed Up 200
Anyone else living away from their native country?

It seems like people might have some interesting stories, so why don't you tell us your nationality and where you're currently living? heart

Why are you living there? How long do you think you'll stay, and do you intend to become a citizen? What's your visa situation like, and if the language is different, how well do you speak it?

I'll start. I'm an American in Japan for work reasons (I'm teaching preschool). I think I'll stay at least three or four years, and I'm not sure if I want to try and become a citizen... I'd be much more open to it if Japan passes better dual citizenship legislation. I'm a long-term resident with work rights, and I speak Japanese at an intermediate level. Thankfully, you don't need much Japanese to teach little kids!

Oh, and do you have any interesting stories to tell about customs or language difficulties?
I live in Japan, too!! I'm also from the U.S. and will be here for at least 4 years. I live in the north in Aomori prefecture and can speak enough to get by but not as much as I'd like to. (I'm working hard at it though!!) I haven't had any culture shock or anything. I really love it up here, it's not as fast paced like Tokyo and there is a lot of wonderful scenery. Also the locals are very friendly and love to include you in any festivals or celebrations that might be going on.

5,650 Points
  • Hygienic 200
  • Flatterer 200
  • Dressed Up 200
I've found local people to be very friendly down here, too! What are you doing up in Aomori? Teaching, consulting, going to school?

11,500 Points
  • The Perfect Setup 150
  • Sausage Fest 200
  • Hive Mind 200