Welcome to Gaia! ::

I've been learning Mandarin Chinese in school for almost 3 years. I'm one of 7 people in my school who are going to be the first non native people to take the Chinese GCSE (exams you take when you are 16 in the UK) within our school. Surprisingly some of us are predicted to get Bs, As and A*s. Although the GCSE is still very much geared toward native speakers.

Although I found the first year really hard and overwhelming as there is so much to take in which is so different. Now, its not too bad. Its just a case of learning and remembering the characters and getting used to the word order.

I would really recommend learning it if you can, especially if you can have a native teacher. I've enjoyed it so much and means I've been able to speak with some of my Chinese friends and understand much more about Chinese culture. =] Although I still need to work on the tones.

Anyone else learning Mandarin Chinese?
What do you think is the hardest part?
Any resources you would recommend?

Newbie Millionaire

5,450 Points
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Tycoon 200
  • Millionaire 200
I have razz ive only had 2 years of highschool though. I think the hardest part is the lack of veb tense and how you have to use measure words to specify the item in question.
Measure words aren't so hard. We have them in English as well. It's just that English nouns are divided between count(able) and uncountable (or non-count or mass) nouns, whereas all nouns in Chinese are of the latter variety.

It's no different from "a cup of sugar" etc.

I've only been learning Mandarin for a year, and I'm finding the written language far easier than the spoken. Mandarin phonology is a pain in the a** for native English speakers.
As first, i tought your thread title was saying ''Anyone Else Eating Mandarin Cheese?''. But i was wrong.

Magical Fairy

20,300 Points
  • Caroling Champ 100
  • Snowball Hero 200
  • Frozen Solid 200