Welcome to Gaia! ::

Devoted Soldier

I believe usernames can be desirable from many different factors.
A TV show, fictional character, celebrity, their own name, or just what interests them and what's popular.
People will seek unique names no matter what site they join in. Shorter usernames with no numerical characters or symbols might be a cause.
Some people prefer longer ones with "decorations". So really, the answer to your question could go on and on. There's no finite answer.

Destructive Bunny

I've had lots of people come up over the years saying they wanted my username.

There's probably hundreds of starshines out there now, so it doesn't feel unique anymore, even though I was the first xd

Darkshimmer's Husbando

Devoted Gaian

38,700 Points
  • Miasmal Lake Champion 500
  • Fan Before It Was Cool 500
  • Partygoer 500
I have always loved this name and have never changed it, since joining in 2003. I am a big fan of Escaflowne and well I am not good at making decisions so I wanted to have something easy to remember

Inuyasha's Fangirl

Rainbow Goddess

31,215 Points
  • Let There Be Color 500
  • Window Shopper 100
  • Market Browser 100
I guess people tend to like the shortest name possible (kudos to you guys with only 3 letters/numbers in your name!), or the simplest word possible like Wolf, Cloud, etc. I would've loved to have gotten the username Wolf emo

Why did I choose Enchanted Blue? Pffft, hell if I know! I keep settling on this Divided Stars outfit so I'm pretty much stuck with teal/purple. I should just be Enchanted Purple... :l Nahh.
Names that are short and sweet, or just seems funny to me tend to always catch my attention.
I guess names that overly used aren't really my cup of tea.

And, good job on the name. I like it!

Hallowed Warrior

People seem to be fond of the brackets in my username, since you can't use them anymore.
      If I had a penny for every n00b who thought I was an npc, well... I'd have lots of pennies.

Dapper Gaian