Welcome to Gaia! ::

Dapper Genius

7,400 Points
  • Object of Affection 150
  • Brandisher 100
  • Loiterer 100
Glitches.
We love them. Or hate them. Or both. But do you ever... get attached?

I can think of a few cases off the top of my head where people have become quite fond of their glitches- sometimes after having wrestled with them for years. I'm in a class on Grief and Loss right now (I'm an excellent student, shh), and it seems apparent that any emotional feeling- positive or negative- toward a person or object does have a cognitive consequence of some sort when it is lost.

I am not, of course, saying that one must cry like a child when they lose a glitch that they have incorporated into part of their digital character or being. However, I, for one, have had glitches that I have struggled to work around, then found it unexpectedly corrected. Suddenly, you don't see that block of green pixels on your screen anymore- your hair doesn't cut off in that awkward yet cool way, or your leg mod doesn't get that odd blue glitter around it from the Twilight skin. But how can that be? It's done that for years- and perhaps in some way it's a little digital representation of the unstoppable march of time. Progress, with the old left behind- it's good, isn't it? So why do you still miss that which bothered you in the first place? It looked awkward. And silly. And you didn't like it. And yet you did, and you somehow miss clicking your tongue at it even if you never hit 'save' when it occurred.