Welcome to Gaia! ::

7,850 Points
  • Beta Gaian 0
  • Friendly 100
  • First step to fame 200
I turned 21 yesterday (11/11), and now that I can legally drink I'd like to get some great drink ideas. I'm planning on trying bar tending pretty soon.
What kind of drinks are bar tenders required to know?

What kind of drinks do you like to drink? Favorite mixed drink? Do you prefer just shots? Beer? Wine? Champagne? Drinks where you can't taste the alcohol at all?

Lonely Capitalist

11,900 Points
  • Brandisher 100
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Mark Twain 100
Ah hah it is nice to see these threads come up. Well as far as recipes I can share I'll just leave these links here since it's easier than copy and pasting the entire thread.

http://www.gaiaonline.com/forum/t.77895077/?_gaia_t_=3934

http://www.gaiaonline.com/forum/t.79447187/?_gaia_t_=3934

But you want to get into bartending eh? I am not a professional but I am a passionate amature when it comes to the art of mixing a good drink and the classification of wines and spirits through taste and smell.

If you're serious about getting into the trade, the one book i would suggest above all else is imbibe by david wondrich. It's a comprehensive way about bar-tending the right way. I guarantee that if you get good at bar-tending and take in mind everything that book teaches you, you might end up being overqualified.

there are some basics that are good for any bartender should know how to make, and this will vary depending on what city you live in. in san francisco here the crowds are very drink savvy to the point of being pretentious pricks about it.

But any bartender worth their salt can make a good manhattin and a good martini. Obviously you should have more beverages under your belt than that but once you can figure out the procedure to make those beverages then you can make most others.

Lonely Capitalist

11,900 Points
  • Brandisher 100
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Mark Twain 100