Welcome to Gaia! ::

Je Nique vos Merdiers
Hanma Selis
Because I'm a loyal consumer of Microsoft and they never let me down.
Hopefully Yuki has something better than what I'm going to say, which is:
I don't understand loyalty to a corporation, when they don't even know you exist.
Or loyalty in general, for that matter.

Microsoft makes me pay for software. That's enough for me to consider the free alternative.

Free is a good reason, but it depends where you come from.

For example in the case of my home computer which I use for comfort, the compatibility with games and my familiarity with the layout is typically enough for me to stick with whatever windows I have as long as a can.

Were I however for example build a work computer - likely a laptop that didn't come with an OS, I would get a linux distro because it has all the stuff I need for free, plus since I'm studying software engineering I find I am more used to "working" in a UNIX environment.

I really depends on what you want, from my understanding Linux, or at least a lot of what I've seen is better tailored to more advanced users who want more customisability, where as Windows as an OS has typically taken to hiding a lot of that complexity for user who don't want to worry or care about it.

8,300 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Autobiographer 200
Because the Linux we had was extremely slow and the menu/graphics were horrible, overall, I didn't like it because of that. I very much prefer Windows, maybe because I grew up with it, I don't know. But I prefer it, be it that you pay for it but heck it _is_ better.
Je Nique vos Merdiers

2. No, but I have never gotten a virus on my linux box, and I browse some pretty sketchy sites on it. More importantly, it's never crashed, ever. Windows 7 is much better than previous versions, but I've still had a few crashes, and a surprise disk failure that Linux would have told me about far in advance.

Disk Failure? What did you do to get that?