Welcome to Gaia! ::

Dapper Gawker

I have several degrees and consider myself a lifelong student, even though I am currently not in school. At university I studied the history and development of thought, of religion, public speaking, and literature. My degrees reflect those studies, obviously, and though I consider myself informed and certified, I am probably many times more aware of just how much I DON'T know than I ever was, and increasingly so every day. I find it very difficult to make sweeping statements about reality and/or politics because of how acutely aware I am of the fact that life and people (especially people) just aren't simple and therefore shouldn't be explained simply.

So my question, out of this, is how should I respond to a person who is so convinced of themselves that they hop up on their desk chairs and preach their extrapolations or even their assumptions and opinions as if they are scientifically provable facts?

I have an answer, but I want to know how you, Gaia, deal with these situations. How do you encourage meaningful dialogue with hard-headed folk? How do you search for truth with someone who thinks they've already achieved enlightenment?
I have a couple of degrees and consider myself a complete idiot. One thing is for certain you can not change a persons view if they are zealots on the subject on hand. They are convinced they are right and you are wrong no matter what you say. On the other hand even scientifically proven facts have turned out to be wrong a few times. I wish I could help, but I just ignore them as most times they spout the same things without even trying to discuss them rationally. I have a hard enough time understanding and communicating with people with my mental disorder than to put up with people unwilling to debate a topic.
Ignore them.

Dapper Gawker

I guess I just wish I could help them. Life is so much more interesting when you can admit you might be wrong.

Eloquent Sophomore

8,975 Points