Welcome to Gaia! ::

Hygienic Sex Symbol

3,450 Points
  • Ultimate Player 200
  • Dressed Up 200
  • Brandisher 100
dequindre_313
Ok, so they're making this bullshit thing in Michigan, where you have to undergo random mandatory drug testing for pot and steriods if you are a school athlete. What do you say? I say hell no. If you would, plz support your argument (you don't have to).

They had this debate when I was in high school (NJ). Luckily, I graduated before it could be put into effect. I didn't use drugs/steroids in high school, and don't now (unless you count the occasional [legal] alcoholic beverage). The fact that the testing is random, and only for athletes, makes it completely unfair.

First of all, it is completely possible to have a positive test without taking drugs. Everybody knows about how poppy seeds can make a person test positive for heroin. But there are other possibilities too. What if a person is friends with people who smoke, but doesn't smoke themselves. If a person can get sick from second-hand tobacco smoke, couldn't it be possible that a person could get a positive test from second-hand pot smoke? If someone goes to a party with no plans of drinking or taking drugs, but half the people at the party smoke up, if this party is taking place in an enclosed area, I'd bet it's completely possible for someone to get the chemicals in their system.

Next, what about the one-time mistakes? It boils down to peer pressure. If someone smokes up once, and never does again, the chemicals are in their bloodstream for an entire month. If the drug test is completely random, there are roughly 22 days out of the school year that a student can test positive. 22/180 isn't the greatest odds.