Welcome to Gaia! ::

Prof Jackson
AryanaSky
Prof Jackson
AryanaSky
Prof Jackson
Where I'm from (rural Canada) it actually more economic in many situations to not get a degree from university, but rather do a simple 6 month course to be a tradesman. I'm rounding out my second year working on a BoS with a major in physics, and I have friends who I graduated with who went and became plumbers, went west to work in Alberta (around the oil sands) and have put payments on a brand new house. It's nuts.

Sure, you can probably make as much money with a degree, but it's a hell of an investment and I probably won't overtake my friend in overall payout for over a decade, maybe longer depending on student debt.

That sounds like an incredibly sensible way of doing things. I haven't heard of anything in America less than two-year vocational school, unless you count taking individual college courses without going for an actual degree. Otherwise, you have to actually get the job to receive the training an experience, as far as I know. Which is really very backwards. What's the 6-month course program called?

generally it varies, there are a lot of smaller trade schools that offer different courses, but they all bascially boil down to getting you into the poisition of "apprentice _________". In my friends case an apprentice plumber. He applies to a work site, they hire him on the spot and stick him as the apprentice of a journeyman plumber. The company win (they only have to pay apprentices a fraction of journeyman wage), the journeyman wins (he gets a little slave to do all the heavy lifting), and the apprentice wins( gets paid, no 'difficult' work early on, great work experience, hours count towards getting his own journeyman status). Not 100% sure on the school my friend went to, I think it was called the Carpenters-Millrites Institute of Newfoundland