Welcome to Gaia! ::

I'm going to outright say it. I'm a freaking noob at cosplay. I've never had a reason or chance to do it until now. So I am asking for some help. I am not very good at constructing cosplays or anything to wear for that matter. So I want to buy a costume. Would it be better to just buy a high quality costume then make it since I couldn't do that to save my life. I'm reading this back and its sounding really stupid but I don't want people pointing and saying "he's lazy. He just bought his while I spent a year on mine." I'm thinking of doing a Madara Uchiha cosplay as my very first one. Not the Tobi one but past madara during the time the village was founded. Also any recommendations on how I might go about making that war fan of his as that seems to be the only piece I can't find online. Some good quality help would be greatly appreciated and please no one post hateful stuff.

Blessed Codger

My recommendation: You may care to post ref pics of the character AND prop of which you speak. 3nodding

And from participating in other threads in this forum, I think I can say that the consensus is this: there is no shame in buying your cosplay. As long as you put in effort and the resources you have available, nobody in their right mind will judge you.

The decision on whether to buy or to make is really a question of how involved YOU want to be with your cosplay.

Personally, I get more out of conventions when I slave over my costume for several months beforehand, but getting to a point where you can make something good requires a lot of trial and error, and it takes awhile.

But you can always decide to learn that skill in the future. 3nodding The beauty of it is that there will always be more cons, so even if you buy a few cosplays on the way, you can make masterpieces next year.
Viviane_neechan
My recommendation: You may care to post ref pics of the character AND prop of which you speak. 3nodding