Welcome to Gaia! ::

I'm in the process of building a new computer and have run into a bit of an issue when looking at getting one of the new ivy bridge processors. Right now, I was planning on picking up a friend's extra mother board (MSI p67a-g43) and an Intel 3570k processor. However, my friend has alerted me that there may be a compatibility issue between these two right now, something about needing a bios update that may or may not be released.

I'm not very experienced when it comes to hardware, and I haven't been able to find anything on google. So really my question is, will I have problems if I use these two parts?
I'd suggest shelling for a Z68 motherboard, last I heard, those are 100% compatible with Ivy Bridge.
Aven Donn
I'd suggest shelling for a Z68 motherboard, last I heard, those are 100% compatible with Ivy Bridge.

The main reason I wanted to use the one I listed, was that my friend already has it, its essentially unused, and hes selling it to me for much cheaper. So I'm left with the dilemma of whether to pay the extra $50-100 to buy a new MB.

I guess my question is now, is a Z68+Ivy worth $100 more than a P67+Sandy?
MrTim
Aven Donn

The main reason I wanted to use the one I listed, was that my friend already has it, its essentially unused, and hes selling it to me for much cheaper. So I'm left with the dilemma of whether to pay the extra $50-100 to buy a new MB.

I guess my question is now, is a Z68+Ivy worth $100 more than a P67+Sandy?

Last I checked Z68 has way more features, faster in some of the under the under the hood departments and better integrated graphics with intel CPUs. Which basically means if your GPU bites the dust, you're not completely ******** and can keep playing, somewhat. (You'll probably have to minimum everything) Until a new GPU arrives.
Compatibility with sandy = compatibility with ivy
Disconsented