Welcome to Gaia! ::

Business Fairy

7,400 Points
  • Tooth Fairy 100
  • Tycoon 200
The rose in spring
If you are looking for something with that much power, then you are better off with a desktop. Something like that will be tremendously pricey.
You're right. Desktops are much more powerful and more economical sense. But I can't take that desktop from room to room or location to location at will. I've been sitting at a desk for 14 years. If I wanted to keep sitting at a desk, then I wouldn't have thought about getting a laptop. Short Answer: I'd like to sit in the recliner with a PC in my lap while I watch the New girl on TV. And a laptop with an i7 might not be as powerful as it's tower counterpart, but it should be sufficient enough to run any non-gaming or emulator programs I have.

Lanackse-Kanvae
The reason we're asking what you're going to use it for is because there's no use recommending a sports car if you need a 4x4 or a small run around.

You'll either get your a** stuck halfway up a carn or you'll have wasted a lot of money on a V12 you're not going to use (not to imagine the insane insurance/tax/petrol costs).
And? Computers are big purchases...

I bought my last computer 7 years ago, and I've hated it for 6 and a half years for being too much of a piece of s**t because I decided to keep my budget at $400-$500. So I thought that if I aimed abit higher at a highish-spec'd piece of machinery, that maybe I wouldn't feel held back by my machine until its atleast 3 years old. And no... I don't plan on using the full power of an i7 even 99% of the time, but I both need and want the option to use it if or when I need it.