Welcome to Gaia! ::

Blessed Informer

I'm going to be working on a couple small websites for a couple people, and they request that I add an online store to their website. Being the noob developer that I am, I have never done that before. Can anyone give me some direction on this?
Grace from God
I'm going to be working on a couple small websites for a couple people, and they request that I add an online store to their website. Being the noob developer that I am, I have never done that before. Can anyone give me some direction on this?

Are you using a CMS, a website design app, or hand-scripting?

5,150 Points
  • Forum Sophomore 300
  • Signature Look 250
  • Wall Street 200
Grace from God

If you don't know how, I recommend you don't. The issues you will run into by setting it up wrong and potentially storing data insecurely of either your client or your client's clients are far worse than any gain you may get from doing so. You really shouldn't gamble with people's finances until you are utterly sure you can do so safely, and you aren't utterly sure until you know how to do so yourself. Politely tell them that doing so is out of your jurisdiction. When I started web programming, I absolutely refused to do any form of monetary transaction systems. It really didn't hurt me at all to remove it from my repertoire, and it very likely saved me much legal trouble.
Project Light
Grace from God