Welcome to Gaia! ::

Newbie Noob

2,300 Points
  • Gaian 50
  • Member 100
  • Dressed Up 200
Hey guys, I'm an artist struggling to start a manga/comic project. Seeing the amazing stuff all around the internet, I feel intimidated and when I try to start, it seems like a very daunting task.

The main issue I struggle with is storyboards and page planning. Concepts and Story naturally comes to everyone, but storyboards and page planning seem to require certain skills that I really lack. So, any tips for someone totally new to the manga/comic field?

btw, here's my gallery if my style is relevant to the subject: http://CatMD.deviantART.com

User ImageUser Image

Shy Sweetheart

9,700 Points
  • Member 100
  • Market Browser 100
  • Friendly 100

Precious Strawberry

9,700 Points
  • Friendly 100
  • Mega Tipsy 100
  • Tipsy 100
That would depend on whether it's a serious, for-publication comic, or if it's just for fun, on your free-time. I'm doing the latter, for example, so all I do is a sort of IM-looking script. I make sure I have the details I have in my head in the script, but most of my ideas come from the actual drawing stage. And this works for me. You can also try an actual script format. There's a template for it on MS Word, plus examples all over the place.

In terms of storyboard, those help in limiting yourself to a set amount of pages, like in an actual manga magazine. It's also your rough-rough draft for camera angles. There's also a rough draft stage where you add more detail and take a closer look at your angles, page flow, etc.

There are plenty of good books on this subject, as well as tutorials all over the web. learn-manga on deviantart has some good ones.

Friendly Gekko

5,000 Points
  • Protector of Cuteness 150
  • Friendly 100
  • Junior Trader 100