Welcome to Gaia! ::

Aged Lunatic

Hello, I'm an amateur 3d modeler and I can draw too, sort of. I am interested in making a manga. I am definitely making the backgrounds in 3d, because drawing in perspective is hard enough when I could just re use the same environments over and over again. The problem lies on the characters them selves. I am better at 3d modeling than in drawing. However, I believe that drawing characters on the scene, including crowds, would be much faster than modeling each and every character, not to mention rigging, texturing and posing each one as well. ( Also modeling a wardrobe for each character, lets not forget that -.- ) I believe that with enough practice, I can be moderately well at drawing, and I could start my manga, or at least illustrations I have in mind. Then again, I think I have all the time in the world, and can model, rig, texture and pose characters also. It's just as hard, just more time consuming. I haven't tried my ideas but I'm just curious about other people's opinions on this. I even went as far as buying books by Andrew Loomis. ( Don't knock em just because they're from the 40s. I've yet to see books out there that are better at teaching how to draw than hi's.) Any way, what do you guys think?

Thieving Rabbit

~helps out with bumpage.~
emotion_dowant emotion_brofist emotion_donotwant
Unfff.

Blessed Vampire

4,550 Points
  • Forum Regular 100
  • Treasure Hunter 100
  • Team Edward 100