Welcome to Gaia! ::

Dangerous Member

9,400 Points
  • Millionaire 200
  • Tycoon 200
  • Lavish Tipper 200
I've been doing my webcomic Eternal Flame since 1999, off and on.

I've restarted it five times now.

Whenever I go back through my archives, there's always something I just seriously HATE.

Sometimes it's my art, usually it's the writing, and all too frequently it's both.

Writing was never my strong suit for my comic, because I used to draw stuff to make my friends laugh, so trying to keep a storyline going is hard to do. I'll draw five pages of story, then goof off for like ten pages just doing silly stuff.

One way of combatting this, that I've found, is to basically do little.. Almost snapshots of the story your wanting to tell. Instead of trying to force out a full page (metaphorically speaking) just taking one paragraph of that, and working on that.

What are some of the tricks you've learned to keep yourself motivated and going on with things? What are some lessons you've been taught or learned over the course of making your art and stories?

Dangerous Capitalist

7,650 Points
  • Popular Thread 100
  • Entrepreneur 150
  • Profitable 100
Here's the big thing: to stick with a story, you have to really really love your story. You want to tell this story to the world as well as you can. When you have that passion in mind, it's easy to continue working on the comic.

I also find that finishing the story front to back, including script, helps. When you work out all the problems of the story first, you can focus on the art afterward. As an artist, you will always improve and your work (especially from 13 years ago) will always be worse than how you're working now, but a good solid story will power it through.. The old adage: pain is temporary, story is forever.

Dangerous Member

9,400 Points
  • Millionaire 200
  • Tycoon 200
  • Lavish Tipper 200
Kupocake
Here's the big thing: to stick with a story, you have to really really love your story.