Welcome to Gaia! ::

Ever had to kick someone out of your house?

Yes 0.2589928057554 25.9% [ 36 ]
No 0.28057553956835 28.1% [ 39 ]
I live with my parents =( 0.46043165467626 46.0% [ 64 ]
Total Votes:[ 139 ]
< 1 2 3 ... 14 15 16 17 >

Quotable Conversationalist

7,150 Points
  • Elocutionist 200
  • Tycoon 200
  • Popular Thread 100
Axis of Fabulousness
Listen, I'm a female engineer as well. I always did pretty decent in my classes and worked my a** off. For the most part the guys I was in class with were awesome and couldn't give less ******** that I'm a woman. There were the occasional assholes, however, that insisted that any time one of the girls got a better grade than them that they felt was undeserved it MUST have been because of our gender. One of my roommates senior year was actually one of them, although to a lesser degree. A lot of sexist jokes he made just to try to get a rise out of people because he thought it was funny. But in some ways he really did believe that being a woman was an automatic advantage. And hey, maybe it is. He actually had better grades than me overall and I'm making probably 20k a year more than him right now. And I found the job like three months before he landed his. Anyways...

Seriously, the worst thing you can do in those situations is throw a b***h fit. Like it or not, as others have said all that does is reinforce the female overreacting crazy b***h stereotype. There are better ways to handle it. Make a joke of it or give the guy a "Really?" look and ignore him. If he keeps on, it's "Dude, really? You seriously believe that an engineering professor cares more about my tits than my skills? Grow up." And then if he continues to be an a**, something like- "Look, I worked hard for that grade and you're being rude. This is my house and if you keep it up you can go drink somewhere else." Keep calm, don't yell, and you'll always come out looking like the better person and smelling like a rose.