Welcome to Gaia! ::

Sense vs Sensibility
Makaibari
It doesn't matter what you start with
as long as, at some point, you learn to draw realistic human anatomy and proportions
for example, I started drawing anime in fifth grade, and the anatomy sucked, but I had my own style
I recently took life drawing classes where I drew humans realistically and now I can incorporate those techniques into my anime art.

Also, it's ridiculous for anyone to be complaining about anime when they are part of an anime-based site. I just don't get it. You say that American people who draw anime have no future in art, but this site is obviously American. Alot of the anime-style characters on gaia are drawn by American artists. Obviously, there are some career paths for people who draw anime.

if you have a problem with anime, I'm sure you'd be happier quitting gaia.

I didn't say I had a problem with anime. I said i found it detrimental to development when people don't learn the basics and stick to anime while dismissing other disciplines.

I see where she is coming from. I agree.
I didn't learn the basics until High School. I combined anatomy skills, perspective, etc AS I was drawing anime. I progressed with both.

I mean, if someone is not wanting to do it as a job in the future and just draws as a hobby, I won't hold it against them if they don't know the basics. (Now that I actually am up to date and still not reading page 2...) I've seen, AND THINK- people drop the anime as they get more progressed. They learn people want to see other things, and they mesh out slowly.

IRL Fatcat

KomiyanZaibach
Makaibari

Also, it's ridiculous for anyone to be complaining about anime when they are part of an anime-based site. I just don't get it. You say that American people who draw anime have no future in art, but this site is obviously American. Alot of the anime-style characters on gaia are drawn by American artists. Obviously, there are some career paths for people who draw anime.