Welcome to Gaia! ::

Newbie Explorer

3,950 Points
  • Contributor 150
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Forum Sophomore 300
Yes, I am a Catholic by birth since it is my parents' religion and was baptized to it,
I received Communion and Confirmation a few years back but by age 13, I started to stray from my faith.
By 17, I did not attend much of Church because I was a College freshman and other stuff.
Now 18 going 19, I feel adamant in denouncing my faith but I couldn't do so because my family is predominantly Catholic, although we have friends of other faiths, they are not very open to them.
The reason for my change was because there was a time when my grandmother kept telling us to just keep praying when we were in a deep crisis even though she can help us.
All I keep hearing was "pray" instead of offering some solid advice that can help us through.

Personally, I believe that all religion is the same and people shouldn't fight about here and there.
The Catholic Church is nice with all its grandeur and power but it cannot simply make decisions for everyone or force things down one's throat.
I have exposed myself to others' religion through reading and personal contact but never joined them, yes I kept my Catholic faith but I have not fully participated in masses and etc.

I do respect religion, I do acknowledge deities but I do not believe in them, I see them as mere models of morality, archaic examples to follow.
I find the Catholic Church as an anachronism to our times, these ever changing times, and that they have been left behind in the Middle Ages!

I don't mind being Catholic but I dislike the fact that many tend to blur the lines and make new religions out of it, I dislike that people fight because of religion and that life has to be centered around God.

I consider myself as a drifter but what should become of me? sweatdrop