Welcome to Gaia! ::

Newbie Pumpkin

i have currently found a home in Linux mint, it feel comfortable in it's walls...... i did not feel it would be decent .... but just as reviewed it likely is best desktop Linux for 2012
User Image

Familiar Phantom

I mostly left Windows years ago. I only keep it around for playing games.

Right now I'm using openSUSE Linux and liking it. I'm still pretty new to it. People complain about YaST a lot but I'm not having any trouble with it. It's a bit heavy-handed maybe but that's ok. openSUSE with KDE looks sex. Sometimes I have KDE-related application crashes though.

I used Ubuntu Linux for a while. Really nothing to complain about. It was the smoothest ride I've ever had with an OS.

Then I used Debian for a while and that was pretty much the same as Ubuntu after I got all of my proprietary drivers installed. I know that kind of defeats the purpose of Debian but meh...

So my favorite that I've used was Ubuntu or anything else Debian-based I guess

Versatile Explorer

6,000 Points
  • Peoplewatcher 100
  • Trader 100
  • Treasure Hunter 100
My mom's com is a windows 7 sony vaio. It's here so I use it. I also have ubuntu in my room that i installed on a old school com that brought home, but I just use it for torrent downloads because it has A LOT of problems. sad If I had the money, I'd get all three. dramallama

Interesting Informer

Ubuntu with Gnome 3 is cool; Xubuntu

Great for lappies.
Hey everyone. You probably figured as much, but I'm new here.

I always use SOME version of windows on my newest machine, which, at this point, is a 3+ year-old ASUS G51J Gaming Laptop. It runs Windows 7 Ultimate, which is fairly stock, with no UI mods or any of that crap installed (I've seen some pretty crazy setups)

My OTHER machines usually run Gentoo. I have an old clunker Compaq F700 Laptop, 2 Raspberry Pi's, and an old Toshiba netbook that all run gentoo.