Welcome to Gaia! ::

trippledence
also, thers no Office for Suse thats whts realy holding me back

OpenOffice is your friendly neighborhood open source office suite. I've only used it for a few things, but so far, no problems.

Z.
I guess the question of the topic has an error of redaction, because I use Windows XP, the reason is than windows xp is the os installed in the university I study.
Windows ME rocks, it may be a little dated but I find it much better than XP anyday, seeing as how whenever I use XP anywhere it seems to crash constantally... and no its not the operators fault because i have been using computers for about 14 years...

Gaian

Well.........I have two computers, each with a different operating system.

The one that's used the least((mostly because it's the one I use when I wanna perform in "educational activities" wink ) is the one that runs off Linux. I seriously need to upgrade the OS on that one, though...... -_-

The one that I'm using right now........well.............this OS is NOT supposed to be out until 2006 at the earliest, but I got lucky and get to beta test it for Microsoft. It's a little gem known as Windows: Longhorn. I'm hoping I get to test the one that they're working after this one........Windows: Blackhorn. When it comes to other OS' made by Microsoft, Longhorn is the shark in the water........the rest are popcorn shrimps compared to this sucker. Good stuff. Run out and get it once it hits shelves.
Windows XP Pro/Corp (tweaked to get rid of many of the extraneous services it loads automatically, but you'll never use, or just don't want)

as to why...

more stable (in my eperience) than windows versions not of NT derivation (i can actually do stuff on it for days on end... i've only had a handfull of OS-crashes since i switched around the time service pack 1 came out)

mac has horrible software selection, and while they are slowly improving, it's still not good enough - especially for the cost.