Welcome to Gaia! ::

Versatile Seeker

12,500 Points
  • Timid 100
  • Expert Skill 150
  • Alchemy Level 10 100
I'm thinking of something similar to Tektek as a web based tool for Gaians, but the objective would be an up-to-date Gaia Cash to Gold ratio instead of avatar design.

I am a noob to things like this. How hard would it be to set up something that daily/hourly/whatever, reads the current marketplace averages on the items in the GC shops and gives you the ratio and maybe worst/best performers? Also, does Gaia have any restrictions on programs reading the website? I know they don't want goldbots, so I want to make sure this idea doesn't somehow violate ToS.

Thank you to anyone with knowledge/advice.

Dangerous Knife

You should also probably ask yourself if you'd be allowed to actually do that; or actually ask an admin.

Versatile Seeker

12,500 Points
  • Timid 100
  • Expert Skill 150
  • Alchemy Level 10 100
Quote:
You should also probably ask yourself if you'd be allowed to actually do that; or actually ask an admin.

From the original post:
Quote:
does Gaia have any restrictions on programs reading the website? I know they don't want goldbots, so I want to make sure this idea doesn't somehow violate ToS.

stare I admit I might be assuming a lot to think admins might actually read what's in their forum, but I know zero programming so they can rest easy knowing I can't do anything with this idea until I get some feedback from the more experienced folks here. I would obviously drop the idea if an admin said it's not ok.
iron.io would be an excellent resource for you. It offers an amazing task scheduler. You could easily write a quick website scraper and set up an iron.io worker to run it at whatever your desired interval is. I've used it before alongside Twilio to create a simple app to text hourly reminders, and found it painfully easy to do, especially in Ruby.