Welcome to Gaia! ::

I've gone through a good portion of my life knowing that I have above average computer skills. Lately I've been trying to figure out why this is. What is it that makes me a good computer user? What makes me able too adapt and my mom is still stuck in the stone age?

I figured it out eventually. As my boyfriend phrased it, I'm able to think like the computer. I can open up a new program and have a pretty good idea what sort of menu or option I'm looking fo in order to do what I want to do.

Now that we've figured this out, I have a confession. I'm no computer expert. Most of my friends are better than I am, but that's just the sort of people I surround myself with. But I still have a hope of being able to improve because I have the will to learn.

A few questions for you: What do you think makes a good computer user? What can I do to improve? I have a CD that's supposed to teach me Basic, I looked at it once and never touched it again; Should I give it a try?
Some people are really good at math because they can easily memorize things. I don't think any one factor plays a role in being a 'good computer user'. You have to have somewhat of an interest as well as a willingness to learn it. We grew up with it as you said, whereas our parents might not have. My dad has a hella hard time learning it, mainly because he's not used to it. It's a little harder to learn things when you get older in general. If you think the CD can help you at all, then watch it, if anything i'm sure it will cover a few things you didn't previously know.
I'm the same way.

My family got two computers.. my mom used one, and I used the other. She was afraid of messing it up.... where I wasn't. I fiddled with that computer until the cows came home. I'm not sure if I "think" like the computer.. but I have a pretty good idea of what's going on. If it's my computer, I have no worries about throwing myself in headfirst to get things figured out.