Welcome to Gaia! :: Report Inappropriate Ads on Gaia | Forum

Register FaceBook Login Login

 

 
GST

Welcome to Gaia's forums, where millions of members gather to discuss random stuff, make new friends,
complain about life, argue about nothing, laugh at dumb pictures, discuss serious issues and/or curse like sailors.

Lurking is creepy. Quit skulking in the shadows and join the conversation!

Register to reply

Advertisement
Tags: report  inappropriate  popup 
Share:  
forum:47, topic:41805411
I just got an ad that automatically redirects be to a page with a "free malware scan."
The website was jnewage.com I believe.
Sorry I can't do the complicated yet thorough reporting.
♥♥♥
 
     

♥ Cheeseums ♥
Always Questing
Rawr.

http://tinyurl.com/2l3qkl
I ♥ Mimi
Old Avies Are
Located In Journal
 
SlightOfHand
There is a bug on one of the ads for the gaia homepage
I havent been able to find it again, but it has an animation that comes up of a hockey puck and I have tried to avoid clicking it, but even before the animation has started, the ad that is on the front page places itself on over each button I try to press. such as the drop lists on the top and the daily chance. I end up unintentionally clicking the ad and the hockey puck animation starts and slows down my comp, or interupts my music.

this happened around 6:30 on my Firefox tab. Im in British Columbia

Thanks, Spinikus


I'm in Canada too.

I have the same thing happen to me (on a pretty regular basis), but it's a Canadian savings bond site it's pretty frustrating. I've taken to refreshing the page if I see the ad come up. If something could be done with this it would be greatly appreciated 3nodding
     
I keep getting this:

http://nrwage.com/online/672943a64c5090b67aa823d2b7914173/976dd6490c96736ce7eae104409b9d46/3656b9eddb95cfb9d7f013ed46b015a2

Add for an anti virus software thing. It closes the Gaia window and another window pops up that says "You may be Infected" then takes you to the site i've put the link to and does a fake scan. It is an aweful VIRUS i have run across on other sites and some one needs to contact your add provider so they can handel this.
 
     
 
i keep getting that redirected one too. it closes the screen sais ive got a virus and or malware and you can only click ok to the free scan and then it takes you to a page where it looks like its scanning your computer. its been happening every now and then to me on any of my accounts since the event started. next time it happens i will post more info about it.
     
http://r.undev.org/?r=130922
Click the pick!
Black Dragon Tavern
Dot_Hack_Boots
I keep getting this:

http://nrwage.com/online/672943a64c5090b67aa823d2b7914173/976dd6490c96736ce7eae104409b9d46/3656b9eddb95cfb9d7f013ed46b015a2

Add for an anti virus software thing. It closes the Gaia window and another window pops up that says "You may be Infected" then takes you to the site i've put the link to and does a fake scan. It is an aweful VIRUS i have run across on other sites and some one needs to contact your add provider so they can handel this.


I just got this now when I was trying to check my PMs.

The time it was around 6:30PM to 6:35PM.

Right now, I am using a browser called Flock 2.5.2
 
     
 
http://www.gaiaonline.com/offers

I have been investigating these "Offers" and most are not suitable for younger gaia's and further more many are virus ridden. Please in the future actually check what sort of quality your own ads that your promoting are.
While not typical I do believe these do fall under inappropriate ads. >.>
     
Yes I do make signs for people with my webcam
Yes I'm happy to do them for free
However I would like one in return if possible.
PM your requests.

And no I'm not a noob, I just don't give a damm about my avi.
I got redirected to some Chinese Sex Museum page from the avatar dress-up screen. The only way I could get off this page was to close the browser window. It also opened something to do with Adobe Reader, which always messes up my PC.
 
     
a new beginning...

questing angelic mini's
o1/o7/o9
 
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/5060/problemgaia.th.png

Got this hijack re-direct. Which tried to prompt me twice to download some exectable. Come on folks this is inexcusable. You really should already be aware of the ads currently in operation of the site. I wont want to play here if I am going to be continuously prompted for this kinda crap sad
     
Dot_Hack_Boots
I keep getting this:

http://nrwage.com/online/672943a64c5090b67aa823d2b7914173/976dd6490c96736ce7eae104409b9d46/3656b9eddb95cfb9d7f013ed46b015a2

Add for an anti virus software thing. It closes the Gaia window and another window pops up that says "You may be Infected" then takes you to the site i've put the link to and does a fake scan. It is an aweful VIRUS i have run across on other sites and some one needs to contact your add provider so they can handel this.


Has anyone taken a look into this? More people said they are getting this and it should be taken care of ASAP.
 
     


 
Dot_Hack_Boots
I keep getting this:

http://nrwage.com/online/672943a64c5090b67aa823d2b7914173/976dd6490c96736ce7eae104409b9d46/3656b9eddb95cfb9d7f013ed46b015a2

Add for an anti virus software thing. It closes the Gaia window and another window pops up that says "You may be Infected" then takes you to the site i've put the link to and does a fake scan. It is an aweful VIRUS i have run across on other sites and some one needs to contact your add provider so they can handel this.


I have gotten this several times over the last few days, the most recent time being at 7.54pm today. I was in one of the shops each time it happened.
My browser is IE 8.
The only way to get rid of it has been to do the CTRL+ALT+DEL thing and close out my whole internet.
     

{RIP MJ. Love Always}

Follow me?
S.I.N.
Dot_Hack_Boots
I keep getting this:

http://nrwage.com/online/672943a64c5090b67aa823d2b7914173/976dd6490c96736ce7eae104409b9d46/3656b9eddb95cfb9d7f013ed46b015a2

Add for an anti virus software thing. It closes the Gaia window and another window pops up that says "You may be Infected" then takes you to the site i've put the link to and does a fake scan. It is an aweful VIRUS i have run across on other sites and some one needs to contact your add provider so they can handel this.
same thing has happened to me, but often i can get back by rapidly clicking my 'back' button, but it is really getting annoying.
 
     


go to my profile for a link to my art shop!
 
Leurun
I just got an ad that automatically redirects be to a page with a "free malware scan."
The website was jnewage.com I believe.
Sorry I can't do the complicated yet thorough reporting.
♥♥♥
I got it two times in a row just now as well. It usually happens when I'm in my mail box or in between pages in the forums.
     
Zahleera
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/5060/problemgaia.th.png

Got this hijack re-direct. Which tried to prompt me twice to download some exectable. Come on folks this is inexcusable. You really should already be aware of the ads currently in operation of the site. I wont want to play here if I am going to be continuously prompted for this kinda crap sad


I also just got this hijack re-direct. It is 1:55 p.m. CDT 11/07/09.
 
     
http://tinyurl.com/cx2w4x

Meet me at Δ Hidden Forbidden Holy Ground!
 
That virus scanner crap hits me at least 3 times a Gaia visit.
Most of the time I get it in my avatar dress up page and shopping.

it's making me QQ gaia....
     

I make signs. PM me.
This thread changed my whole perspective of Gaia -> Gaia isn't being Money hungry

Don't let the join date fool you, I've been a member for five years.
I keep getting this weird virus scan thing sometimes when I venture around the gaian website.

what should I do?

can anyone pm me about this like a gaian staff?

I use the latest version of firefox, and my ISP has already given me security.
When the ad pops up it closes my window, and redirects me to that saying i hvae viruses, but when I do my ISP security it is not saying I have any.
 
     

Quick Reply

Enter both words below, separated by a space:

Can't read the text? Click here

Submit

We will be phasing out support for your browser soon.

Please upgrade to one of these more modern browsers.