Welcome to Gaia! ::

I have a Masters Degree in Illustration (Specifically in paper cutting for children's illustration) and would back going to art collage enormously.

If art is something you want to do for the rest of year life you will learn a lot more from studying it then just how to draw, you'll learn how to publicise yourself and get work, set up websites, how to set up a good portfolio and an artist CV, how to present your work professionally, produce lectures work to deadlines, deal with tough briefs that challenge your skill and difficult customers who drive you crazy. And (very importantly) how to deal with tax's when working as a freelance artist.

As a job it is very hard to get seen and become known and you have to be prepared for your art not to just be a casual hobby but something you work at for 12 hours a day every day of your life. Its not a easy thing to do, and you end up doing artwork that you hate just to get yourself seen or bring in some money, I've done everything from teaching to drawing fairies for terrible magazines.

Art collage is a amazing experience, being surrounded by likeminded people and interesting tutors, but to make it worth while you have to put in a lot more work then you would expect in an effort just to become saleable. And once you finish it doesn't stop, most professional freelance artist have to have a part time job just to pay the rent .... at least in the beginning.

If you don't think that you can deal with working with or around people who are highly competitive and extremely critical. then Avoid making your artwork a job and just keep it as a hobby, that way you can make what you want when you want.

Fatcat

Miramelle
(An "art school" is usually a private college. There are also State and Community colleges. Most of them are general study, some are focused in a particular area.)