Welcome to Gaia! ::

So I'm studying the Michael Hampton book: Figure Drawing: Design and Invention, and I sort of decided on my way to study it. The basic flow I was going to go with is ready each chapter slowly one at a time, copying the drawings and figuring out the techniques explained then at the end of the chapter do a number of drawings on my own using the techniques learned. I would then from there, see if I'm satisfied of my understanding of the techniques, and if not, re-read the chapter and try again. My question to you all is, how many drawings do you think I should do at the end of the chapter as a good measure of how much I understand. An obvious answer would be "Until you get it" But for me to work efficiently, I need a number, something solid, it's just how I function. So any suggestions?

O.G. Partier

I basically do the actual actual pictures presented in a section. When it comes to Hampton (and Bridgman, who is my actual other fav), I do a picture per his. When I complete a section I do studies from photos or life. What I find is from doing these I experiment upon the knowledge from the anatomy text and build upon it. It helps me take the real people and break them down in a way that is presented to me and helps me make sense of what I'm actually seeing. After a certain point I find real people have made the most difference in my understanding.

If I'm lacking a section I go back and re-do it. Often this is months after I do it originally, though.

Truthfully, while I love Gaia, if you are looking for suggestions on proceeding with heavy anatomy studies you are better off with a forum that is heavy in them like Conceptart or Permanoobs or a similar forum. Gaia is a constant inspiration imo but it doesn't feature a lot of people with a heavy training in this sort of thing. I'm not even remotely a teacher, either, but I do appreciate Hampton (and anyone who appreciates him as a result)