Stellar Star

24,975 Points
  • Healer 50
  • Hunter 50
  • Survivor 150
Legal bump :]
[******** ******** ******** TOO MUCH SPAM
masterbump
So, fantastic article thus far. I wanted to add my two cents.

So you want to work in games but you love 2D animation

Hi, I've been working as a professional in animation for the last five years, and a few years before I went to college (that doesn't count in my eyes). After being in TV and film, all I have to say is this: Working in games has been a life changing experience.

First off, I work as a flash artist and animator. So for folks looking to study 2D animation, THIS IS ANOTHER GREAT POSITION FOR YOU!

Pay: Decent, and normally should come with benefits. The two companies I've worked for thus far have. As to pay, if you're fresh out of college, then yes, expect your pay to be 35-50K. However, if you're working freelance/contract, then think of the 35-50K as more along the lines of 40-55K, when you add in benefits.

Hours: I have worked normal 8 hour shifts, I have also worked the insane 14-16hr shifts. What I have come to notice is that unless your company has scheduled its project poorly, crunchtime isn't as often as it is in other fields, but do expect to put in your fair share.