Welcome to Gaia! ::

Shanna66
but with the program you arent just sving an image to your computer, you are taking and using a product that took months, maybe even years to make and not paying the creator a cent. not to mention you use that program for things while with art you just look at it and maybe use it for inspiration at a later date

im not good with deabting so im not quite sure how to get my point across in a good way sweatdrop

I see your point, and I agree that artists and developers should get paid for their work.

Aged Codger

Considering it's only $70, you could probably save up for it, or ask for it as a birthday gift.
lol And people wonder why the government thought of SOPA. rolleyes

Anyway, There has been a lot of Freeware listed: GIMP, Paint.net, OpenCanvas 1.1. If you really want it I suggest you don't pirate it, as said it is cheap just have a little patience and save up.

BUT I've tried all the freeware listed and PS, Painter and SAI. SAI ended up not being my favorite (I was already much more comfortable with GIMP). Oh there is another program becoming quite popular calledArtRage. It's cheaper than SAI and has really good reviews. Sadly I've never used this one, as I switched to Corel Painter 11 (not cheap).

Okay the main point is there is tons of freeware and "cheap-ware" (as I call it) out there. Give other things a try before choosing. Just a suggestion but there are other great things to work with out there.

frantic spark's Senpai

Angelic Unicorn

Mental Sedative
Shanna66
Mental Sedative
Soreiyu
Wouldn't it be possible for the creator to add more piracy protection if he continued to develop the program? I mean the last time I checked it was pretty hard to pirate a program like Open Canvas. Sure he might need some help, but I do believe that it would be better than stopping development completely.