Welcome to Gaia! ::

Hello! emotion_yatta

My Bamboo Fun medium tablet is beginning to malfunction. I have been using this tablet for three years. Before this I used a Graphire 4 tablet. (Also for three years.) For a while I have wanted more pressure sensitivity and maybe more drawing space for my digital artwork. Based on what I want, I am looking at the Intuos range of Wacom tablets. I think $500 AUD will be my limit. So, I would like your opinion on...

Intuos 4 vs Intuos 5. Why is 4 priced higher than 5? Would I regret buying a 4 if 5 is available? Is there a huge difference in quality? etc.

Intuos 5 medium vs Intuos 5 large. If I can alternate between needing small wrist movements and needing large arm movements, is the larger drawing space worth it? etc.

Thanks for any opinions! Also if you don't know the difference between the two tablets but still own one, it would be awesome if you can describe your experience with it anyway. <3

Dangerous Capitalist

7,650 Points
  • Popular Thread 100
  • Entrepreneur 150
  • Profitable 100
I had a similar problem when I was buying a new tablet: Intuos3 was more expensive than Intuos4. So I ended up getting Intuos4 because I could apply academic discounts to it. I can't really say why this happens, but in the case of Wacom tablets, the older models tend to be more expensive than what's currently selling.

I have an Intuos4 Large and I gotta say, I love the huge drawing space. Then again, I also like to work with broad arm movements instead of small wrist movements. But I believe there's an option where you can limit the drawing space on the large tablet. I've worked with smaller tablets, and with the Intuos4, I've never had a hand/wrist cramp. For that reason alone, I think it's worth getting a larger tablet. As an artist, your hand is the most important tool. Take good care of it!