Welcome to Gaia! ::

I'm more of a digital artist but now that I'm an official art student, I get to experiment with other mediums. I really like pastels and oil painting. I'm starting to get used to using canvas. Anyone here have a favorite medium?

Tipsy Tipper

I work with plain old pencil almost exclusively at the moment, but I want to try colored pencil, paints (first acrylic then oils), and pastels. I just don't know where to start. sweatdrop
I'm a big fan of colored pencils. I'm also getting to like charcoal and Ive always liked doing pencil
Wax is my favorite.

Since it's hard to be able to work with it often, though, I go to ink, markers, and collage as my second choice.
I mostly use pencil or pen, and sometimes colored pencil and charcoal. But I think I'll try to expand my horizons there, haha. The few times I attempted digital I was pretty horrible at it. Don't have the motivation for it yet, I guess -- its feels very different and thus intimidating.
My favorites are:
pencil
colored pencil
crayons
and
watercolor.

I also like to make collographs.
Pencil and paper. I guess that i'm sort of ok with paints, but i've got a lot more control with a pencil and I generally create some pretty cool stuff with it.

7,000 Points
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
  • Invisibility 100
  • Brandisher 100
oil's on canvas. but painting found objects is fun too.

Proxy Fairy

10,200 Points
  • Gaian 50
  • Member 100
  • Treasure Hunter 100
Clay and graphite for enjoyment factor.
I'm a huge fan of markers. But I adore coloured pencils as well.
Wood is probably my all-time favorite medium. (Talking about sculpture at this point.) It's lively, snarky, and you have to work with it, not stubbornly insist that it does what you want it to, if you're going to get anywhere.

For 2-D, I love oil.