Welcome to Gaia! ::

By way of introduction, I'm an undergraduate student of Philosophy with a strong interest in art and aesthetics, and am something of a veteran Extended Discussion poster.

I love art. I hate this forum.

So, how to make this productive? Create a thread to examine the issue at hand.

A general consensus seems to have arisen on this particular forum that anything can be art. Not just that sketches, crudely copied cartoons and home-made mangas are art, but that skies, food and plants are also art.

So, two questions:

Do you feel I am correct in my view that an unusually subjective approach prevails here?

To what degree do you feel that there exist things which cannot be art?

3,150 Points
  • Gaian 50
  • Money Never Sleeps 200
  • Wall Street 200
art is everything..every creation I believe...from two people talking to a grain of sand.. and I believe what my teacher said that expressing art in your own way is a revelation of your inner self...i love art!!

mrgreen mrgreen mrgreen mrgreen mrgreen mrgreen mrgreen mrgreen mrgreen mrgreen

Trafficker

Ah, hello. smile
...Thanks for your Gaia (and other) Credentials?

In the interest of getting sleep tonight/this morning I'll get straight to the point.

1. I'd like to think that the quality of the "general consensus" (read: majority's consensus) on this forum is pretty questionable. Hell, I bet there's a general consensus on even THAT opinion here.

2. What can't be art? In the general sense of the (largely encompassing) term, "art", it seems pretty cut and dry to me. Regardless of medium I think art doesn't exist without (human?) intent (to make art). However, if the question turns into what counts as fine art, or good art, or even horrible art and all points in between that's when the areas turn gray. So, unlike Little Miss Rainbow Farts up there, I don't think random grains of sand can be art just through the virtue of existence.

Dapper Dabbler

8,250 Points
  • Contributor 150