Welcome to Gaia! ::

1 100.0% [ 9 ]
Total Votes:[ 9 ]
1 2 >

I was wondering if anyone knows of any good art books that can teach me how to draw? I'm a beginner and I just want to improve. I've looked through the art resources sticky thread but quite a few of the websites are no longer available and/or it's assuming that I already know how to draw relatively well. Plus I prefer books vs websites but if you know any good ones I'd be grateful.
Thank you in advance.

7,900 Points
  • Bunny Spotter 50
  • Bunny Hunter 100
  • Bunny Hoarder 150
Hmm are you looking to improve traditional style or ??

Tiny Friend

I dunno what kind of art you're looking to learn but I'll throw this out there:
Avoid any "How to Draw..." books, especially cartoon-related. They tend to be low quality in terms of what they actually teach you, and also teach a lot of bad habits.

Tipsy Lunatic

9,100 Points
  • Noob wrangler 100
  • Team Jacob 100
  • Invisibility 100
Yup, I'm seconding Hoshimi Ritsuon post in avoiding those types of books; I'm just now trying to unlearn like 10 years of using those books as guides! xD

I don't know of many books to help you out, but I hear Drawing From The Right Side of The Brain by Betty Edwards thrown around a lot, so I'm going to check that one out. smile
I'll be lurking this thread as well biggrin I don't really use books, but I would like to get a few of the higher recommended ones. I know that books on anatomy are beneficial, but I don't have any specific books to link D: Other books on composition, form, values, etc. would be excellent for a drawing beginner, but again I don't have anything to recommend o.x
THIS thread might be of use to you. I'm not sure which book would be most suitable for a beginner though so stick around for some more replies.
Aureilias
THIS thread might be of use to you. I'm not sure which book would be most suitable for a beginner though so stick around for some more replies.

This is great biggrin Thanks! *readreadread*