Welcome to Gaia! ::

This is my first time posting in this fourm, first time I really noticed it, ahaha. But I am doing a digital painting of sayaka from madoka magica.

Here is the WIP

I mainly need help with maybe the background? Or what colors would look good shadowed in the hair. I am not very good at color theory yet. I am trying but its hard for me.

update:
Finished version

Distinct Elder

Shadows usually are the complement (opposite colour on the colour wheel) of the colour of the light source, and shadows are usually a less saturated/bright version of the local colour. Also a good value (darkness level) to start with for a shadow is halfway from the local colour to black. It's probably safe to go even darker with hair since it's got a sheen to it and that creates darker shadows and brighter highlights (overall just more contrast in value).

As for the background, I'd go with a muted complement of the hair so the head "pops" off the background - some sort of desaturated orange that doesn't look muddy.

Why don't you look up a photo of blue hair (like a wig) under a similar lighting scenario to your idea and use that as reference?
Itchy the Hatter
Shadows usually are the complement (opposite colour on the colour wheel) of the colour of the light source, and shadows are usually a less saturated/bright version of the local colour. Also a good value (darkness level) to start with for a shadow is halfway from the local colour to black. It's probably safe to go even darker with hair since it's got a sheen to it and that creates darker shadows and brighter highlights (overall just more contrast in value).

As for the background, I'd go with a muted complement of the hair so the head "pops" off the background - some sort of desaturated orange that doesn't look muddy.

Why don't you look up a photo of blue hair (like a wig) under a similar lighting scenario to your idea and use that as reference?