Welcome to Gaia! ::

Well this is a character i've worked on for some time now, it began with a few simple sketches then worked my way up to this, i want to know what fellow artists might think of my character, as for the manga thing, a friend of mine and i are working on a manga and we're creating characters right now all of it is just rough ideas as of now, if you like it ill continue to upload other characters razz

let me know what you think razz

First one is a sketch:
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

Second one is with photoshop (im kinda new to photoshop):
User Image - Blocked by "Display Image" Settings. Click to show.

Sparkly Star

7,825 Points
  • Forum Regular 100
  • Bunny Spotter 50
  • Risky Lifestyle 100
First recommendation is resize those images, far too large

Im not going to discourage you from drawing a comic/manga, its great practice

You do have a lot to learn with anatomy, the hands are weakly drawn and too small. The torso is too thin and the legs are very thin and short. He basically shrinks as you look from his head to his feet.

Im fairly certain in saying anyone who ever draws humans goes thru a phase where this happens to them. Drawing your guide lines with your base skeleton and making sure you measure the length of the arms and legs will solve that problem. Good thing is that he seems to have a decent line of balance going, so its becomes a proportion issue

Be careful with your posing, a good way to test a pose is to see if you can do it yourself. His arms are in a very uncomfortable pose, borderline painful when i tried it myself. At least for me, it was impossible to even get my right arm up and bent that high while holding something
Rishnea
First recommendation is resize those images, far too large

Im not going to discourage you from drawing a comic/manga, its great practice